

# STATE OF NEVADA ADVISORY COUNCIL FOR PROSECUTING ATTORNEYS 100 North Carson Street Carson City, Nevada 89701

Theresa M. Haar, Special Assistant Attorney General aginfo@ag.nv.gov 702-486-3420

#### **DRAFT MEETING MINUTES**

**Organization:** Advisory Council for Prosecuting Attorneys

Date and Time of Meeting: July 29, 2021 • 10:00 a.m.

Place of Meeting: Telephonic Conference Call

**Number:** 605-313-5111 **Access code:** 468822

#### **Members Present:**

Aaron D. Ford, Attorney General, Chair
Theresa Haar, Special Assistant Attorney General,
Executive Director
Christopher Hicks, Washoe County District Attorney
Karl Hall, Reno City Attorney
Lane Mills, Churchill County District Attorney
Steve Wolfson, Clark County District Attorney
Art Mallory, Churchill County District Attorney

## **Guests Present:**

Anela Kaheaku, Attorney General's Office

- 1. Call to Order and Roll Call.
- 2. Public Comment.

None

## 3. Raggio Award Nomination.

AG Ford states that nominations for 2021 Raggio Award winner to be presented at the Prosecutor's Conference and turns the time over to Ms. Haar for discussion.

Ms. Haar states that this year the Prosecutor's Conference will be held in Lake Tahoe and is very excited to see everyone in person. One of the major items that needs to be addressed before the event is select a Raggio Award winner. The floor is opened for nominations and a brief explanation and then there will be vote.

Mr. Wolfson asks who the recipients of the award were last year. Ms. Haar states that in 2019 it was Jan Jones and Jenny Nobel. Mr. Wolfson thanks her for the information.

Mr. Hicks states that in looking for a nominee he reviewed previous recipients and the philosophy behind the award. He believes that someone who should be recognized is Patty Cafferata. He pulled up Patty's history and states that in 1980 she was elected to the Nevada Assembly representing District 25 in Reno. Then in 1992 she was elected State Treasurer and was the first woman ever elected to a constitutional statewide office in Nevada. After serving four years as treasurer, she ran for Governor and had the Republican nomination. She ultimately did not prevail, but it is a noteworthy accomplishment that she reached. In 1989 she became a lawyer, and this is what's more pertaining to the Raggio Award, she went on to serve in four different District Attorney offices in the State as well as for the Attorney General's Office. She started as a Deputy District Attorney for Eureka County, then in 1992 she was elected the Lincoln County District Attorney and then in 1994 Landor County District Attorney, and in 2000 Esmerelda County District Attorney. She put in incredible hours working in these small rural area counties. It is very admirable what she has done both as a woman but also in so many different capacities. Lastly, she served in the Attorney General's Office for four years as Special Assistant Attorney General for law enforcement, counties, and municipalities. She was often organizing things such as the Prosecuting Attorney Conference and trying to bring in training for prosecutors and bring forth legislation to assist prosecutors. This is the reason I nominate Patty for the award.

AG Ford asks if there are any other nominations. Hearing no other nominations AG Ford asks that they close the nomination for the Raggio Award which is seconded by Mr. Mallory.

Mr. Wolfson interject with thanks to Mr. Hicks for the nomination of Ms. Cafferata for the award. His proposes that another award be created after Ms. Cafferata and that he is all in favor for her to receive the Raggio Award.

AG Ford states that this item is to be put on a future agenda for discussion to have a new award named after Ms. Cafferata. AG Ford asks for vote for Ms. Cafferata to receive the Raggio award. All members are in favor of this and there are no opposition the award winner is Patty Cafferata.

#### 4. **Public Comment.**

None.

# 7. Adjournment.